The Ex-Perfectionist Manifesto (a work in progress)

Hi – my name is Gage and I’m an Ex-Perfectionist ๐Ÿ™‚

This is my working Manifesto to myself and the world.

I’ll be updating it from time to time as new inspirations and revelations occur.

If you have any ideas or thoughts for working with perfectionism of your own, or if you’d simply like to share your experience in this regard, I’d love to hear from you! (feel free to post in comments below).

Why? Because it's about time.

Why? Because it’s about damn time.


 

1. I strive for Excellence, not perfection.

2. I do not allow the (misguided) idea of perfection stop me from creating, showing or sharing my work with the world.

3. I REVEL in my “mistakes,” big and small!

4. There is no such thing as “failure;” only continued experiments with varying degrees of success.

5. I am kind and generous with myself, and treat myself with respect no matter what the outcome of my project or experiment.

6. I appreciate myself for trying. Always.

7. If I notice that I’m spending too much time fussing over the details of my creation, I take a break and walk away.

8. I have a good, hearty laugh with myself at the end of each day, for in the end, it’s really not as serious as I think ๐Ÿ™‚

2 thoughts on “The Ex-Perfectionist Manifesto (a work in progress)

  1. Hi, yes I too am an ex-perfectionist. It’s something I am always facing in myself and striving to breakthrough! It truly is a matter of being able to laugh at yourself and the world and loosen up!! ๐Ÿ˜ƒ. Reveling in mistakes is also a good one. Just let it all go!! It’s going to be okay, and you are ok! This is what I tell myself ๐Ÿ˜˜

  2. Awesome Erika! I love what you’ve shared here. Yes – laughter is such good medicine, isn’t it? ๐Ÿ™‚ I also love these two quotes from Brene Brown’s book, “The Gifts of Imperfection”:

    – Healthy striving is self-focused: “How can I improve?” Perfectionism is other-focused: “What will they think?

    and

    – Authenticity is a collection of choices that we have to make every day. It’s about the choice to show up and be real. The choice to be honest. The choice to let our true selves be seen.

    Here’s to Authenticity!!!

Leave a Reply

