The Wave

You know, I really appreciate the wave.

No, not that thing people do in stadiums, but the car wave.

I don’t know… maybe it’s just the Nebraskan in me.

I recall driving with my dad on backcountry roads when I was younger. Each time a car would pass us going the other way, the driver would lift his forefinger from the steering wheel to acknowledge us. That’s it. Just a forefinger. It was the equivalent of a hat tip, or a “Hey there, buddy.”

To me, though, it felt like, Hey! He SAW us!!! and it always left me feeling warmer inside. Just that tiny gesture of a lifted finger from a steering wheel made the world seem like it was a pretty darn good place to be.

And so it is with the car wave now.

Here in Los Angles – home of traffic and commuters at their finest – any act of kindness on the road is appreciated.

So when I let someone in ahead of me on the road, I still always look for that acknowledgement, the wave. You know the one I’m talking about: the hand of the driver in front of you that pops up and gives a little “Hey, thanks!” for letting them in.

While I don’t always get it, when I do, I SO appreciate it. It makes me feel like the world is still a pretty darn good place to be.

~

And with that, dear reader, I bid you adieu (with a little wave, of course). I’ll be stepping away from blogging for a few days, as I’m off to wilds of California and Utah to go backpacking.

May you find your own little waves every where you look.

XO

Photo by Forrest Cavale

Photo by Forrest Cavale

One thought on “The Wave

  1. I LOVE the wave too….. it’s that moment of connection that touches me every time… A wave to you! Have fun on your trip

Leave a Reply

