100 Day Project

(A huge shout out to Elle Luna & The Great Discontent for this amazing idea)

100 Days

100 Days

 

I came across this really cool idea while on Instagram yesterday! It’s the #100dayproject

This is from the website:

What Is the 100-Day Project? It’s a celebration of process that encourages everyone to participate in 100 days of making. The great surrender is the process; showing up day after day is the goal. For the 100-Day Project, it’s not about fetishizing finished products—it’s about the process.”

“…it’s about the process.”  I seriously love that.

There are so many reasons why I adore this concept, but one reason in particular hooks me:

I am getting married in 106 days (thanks to The Knot.com, I am privy to this daunting daily countdown, whether I want it…or knot ;).

As such, I am inspired to treat the last 100 days of my single-hood (single-dom? single life? how does one refer to that?) as a sort of threshold crossing, as I move from being a single woman to a married one.

I see these 100 days as a time to take root in my relationship with with my Artist Self, before I take root in relationship with another.

So beginning July 1, it’s ON!

On July 1, 2015, I’ll be starting my own 100 day project (well, it will technically be 101 days, but I really love me a clean start, so July 1st it is).

What will I be doing each day?

Well, I don’t know just yet.

Maybe I’ll do some creative writing. Or paint. Or take a daily photo. Or write a 100 page book. Or meet 100 new people. Or… ?

There are so many creative things that one could do each day….

Finally, I’m curious:  If you had your own 100 Day Project, what would you do with your 100 days?  Perhaps you’d even like to join me in your own 100 day project!  🙂

 

Whatever it is I wind up doing over the next 100 days, my intention is to do it fully, do it daily, and enjoy the ride.

Photo by Sidi-Omar Alami

Photo by Sidi-Omar Alami

4 thoughts on “100 Day Project

  1. This is awesome! On December 31st of 2014, I made the commitment to doodle once a day everyday for a year. I’ve been doodling everyday since then. Will you be documenting your 100 days on this blog?

  2. What an awesome commitment! How has it been going for you?

    As far as documenting my 100 day Project here, I actually hadn’t considered it. But with your inquiry, now I just may! 🙂

    • It’s been pretty good so far! I have fallen behind a couple of times but I always managed to catch up. Today is day 179 for me. At this point, it’s almost become like a habit. I wish you all the best with the 100 day project! I hope you really enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

