Days 17-25, and letting nature’s pace lead the way

It’s day 25, which means that I’m a quarter of the way through my 100 day project. If you’ve been following this blog, you’ll know that part of the reason I’m doing this project is as a kind of ritual for myself as I lead up to getting married, in T-minus 76 days (my ritual is actually 101 days long 🙂 ). I sort of wanted to ‘marry’ or court my Inner Artist first, before I married my darling outer beloved.

So for today, I am creating a blog post, as I was really touched by something I heard recently.

Here it is, excerpted from Zorba the Greek:

by Kazantzakis from Zorba the Greek

I remember one morning when I discovered a cocoon in the back of a tree just as a butterfly was making a hole in its case and preparing to come out. I waited awhile, but it was too long appearing and I was impatient. I bent over it and breathed on it to warm it. I warmed it as quickly as I could and the miracle began to happen before my eyes, faster than life. The case opened; the butterfly started slowly crawling out, and I shall never forget my horror when I saw how its wings were folded back and crumpled; the wretched butterfly tried with its whole trembling body to unfold them. Bending over it, I tried to help it with my breath, in vain.
It needed to be hatched out patiently and the unfolding of the wings should be a gradual process in the sun. Now it was too late. My breath had forced the butterfly to appear all crumpled, before its time. It struggled desperately and, a few seconds later, died in the palm of my hand.
That little body is, I do believe, the greatest weight I have on my conscience. For I realize today that it is a mortal sin to violate the great laws of nature. We should not hurry, we should not be impatient, but we should confidently obey the eternal rhythm. 

 

I think that pretty much says it all. We cannot “hatch” prematurely; only on our own, right and divine timing.

Lately (well, if I’m honest with myself, most of my life, actually), I’ve felt the need to “get there” sooner, to be “over there” rather than here, where I am.

I am guilty of wanting to rush nature’s process, and yet I know that when I do, it never turns out quite right.

Like now… I am in a moment of my life where I’m on the verge of lots of wonderful things, and yet… I find myself feeling more unclear on my path than ever. Some part of me (the worrier? the planner?) wants to know WHERE WE’RE GOING and HOW WE’LL GET THERE. This part of me is deeply, fundamentally uncomfortable with the unknown, with the pathless path.

And! There is another part of me (the sage guide? the mystical wanderer?) that KNOWS that not knowing is the juiciest part of this great Mystery. This wise part of me is excited about the unknown, and says to that planner in me, “Don’t worry kid. This is gonna be great.”

So that’s where I’m out today. Figuring it all out is overrated. The pathless path… the Great Unknown… that’s the road I want to be on now.

 

PS.  If you’d like to follow my #100dayproject progress, you can check out my Instagram page here (you’ll just have to send me a friend request 🙂 ), or you can simply see the pics below.

Day 17

 

Days 18- 20 (just the paintings, not the beach shot 🙂

 

Days 21-24 (plus a bonus artwork)

Screen Shot 2015-07-25 at 8.59.55 AM

 

 

Onward.

 

Leave a Reply

